Kansas City ChiefsPatrick Mahomes

Chiefs News: Patrick Mahomes, Rashee Rice Win Team MVP, Top Rookie

The Kansas City Chiefs have announced their Derrick Thomas and Mack Lee Hill Award winners for the 2023 NFL season. The Chiefs finished the regular season 11-6 to claim the third seed in the AFC, then defeated the San Francisco 49ers, 25-22, in Super Bowl LVIII.

Kansas City has now won back-to-back championships and three Super Bowls in five seasons. These awards are voted on by the team at the end of each season.

Derrick Thomas Award (Most Valuable Player)

Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes won the Derrick Thomas (Most Valuable Player Award) for the third time in his career (2018, 2022).

CHIEFS.COM: Mahomes threw for 4,183 yards and 27 touchdowns in 2023 before leading Kansas City to one of the greatest postseason runs in NFL history, culminating in a second straight world championship.

Mack Lee Hill Award (Rookie of the Year)

Former SMU wide receiver taken in the second round of the 2023 NFL Draft Rashee rice was named the winner of the Mack Lee Hill Award (Rookie of the Year).

CHIEFS.COM: Rice caught 79 passes for 938 yards and seven touchdowns last season before catching an NFL rookie record 26 receptions during the postseason. Fifteen of those catches resulted in a first down, including a 13-yard catch on third down in overtime in Super Bowl LVIII that extended Kansas City’s winning streak.