Mahomes Became NFL’s First 25 Year Old Hall of Famer

By Jet Ainsworth – @JetForce5

Is Mahomes Already a Hall of Famer? The numbers say “absolutely.”

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI – JANUARY 19: Patrick Mahomes #15 of the Kansas City Chiefs holds up the Lamar Hunt Trophy after defeating the Tennessee Titans in the AFC Championship Game at Arrowhead Stadium on January 19, 2020, in Kansas City, Missouri. The Chiefs defeated the Titans 35-24. (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)

We all know THAT fan.

The fan that sees your Patrick Mahomes jersey and they crinkle their nose. They prepare to pounce with a brain filled with half-baked opinions. They want to remind you in some passive-aggressive or even aggressive-aggressive way: Your quarterback is overrated.

Don’t worry, we’re here to let you know that you’ve been 100% correct and your friend has been 100% wrong this entire time.

Patrick Mahomes is already a Hall of Famer at 25 years old.

How can we be so sure? Well, it’s simple. Compare Showtime to other Hall of Fame quarterbacks. Here are the measurables. First, was the player in question dominant in his era?

Short answer, yes. Since Mahomes became a starter in 2018, this is where he ranks among all QBs. This includes former MVP Lamar Jackson, franchise icons Dak Prescott, Deshaun Watson, Josh Allen, and Russell Wilson — and future Hall of Famers Aaron Rodgers, Drew Brees, Tom Brady and the incomparable Gardner Minshew:

  • QB Wins:              37 (1st)
  • Passing YPG:       308.2 (1st)
  • Passing YPA:       8.4 (1st)
  • Passing TDs:        114 (1st)
  • Passer Rating:    109.3 (2nd)

Mahomes has out-produced a minimum of three future Hall of Fame quarterbacks in his early years. That number will only rise. But how does Mahomes compare to ALL of the greatest quarterbacks? Let’s begin with his first 54 starts (including playoffs):

  • QB Wins:              44 (1st)
  • Passing Yards:    16,476 (1st)
  • Passing TDs:        131 (1st)
  • INT:                        28 (2nd)
  • Passer Rating:    107.4 (1st)


Okay, so he’s off to the best start in the history of the game. That’s Hall of Fame worthy. But wait, that fan says it’s about rings – yes, it is. Let’s see how much team winning and individual dominance a player has to have to get inducted into Canton:


(* = Hall of Famer)

Player                                   NFL MVP             Superbowl

  • *Peyton Manning            5                              2
  • Tom Brady                         3                              7
  • Aaron Rodgers                  3                              1
  • *Brett Favre                     3                             1
  • *Johnny Unitas                3                              1
  • *Joe Montana                   2                              4
  • *Kurt Warner                  2                              1
  • *Steve Young                   2                              1
  • *Terry Bradshaw           1                              4
  • *Bart Starr                       1                              2
  • *John Elway                     1                              2
  • Joe Theisman                    1                              1
  • *Ken Stabler                    1                              1
  • Patrick Mahomes             1                              1
  • *Marcus Allen                 1                              1
  • *Terrell Davis                 1                              1
  • *Emmitt Smith               1                              1

Maybe your passive-aggressive fan friend is thinking: “But… but… those guys have career numbers and that’s why they’re Hall of Famers!” To that, I would say Terrell Davis only played 7 seasons in his career, the first 4 were good. He played 17 total games in the final 3 seasons of his career which isn’t good.

If Terrell is chillin’ in bronze at the Pro Football Hall of Fame, then they might as well start on Patrick’s bronze bust yesterday.